• +91 820 2924111
  • shaaped.foa@manipal.edu

Keynote Speakers


Dr. T.V. Ramachandra

Co-ordinator, Energy & Wetlands Research Group, Center for Ecological Sciences [CES]
Convenor, Environmental Information System [ENVIS], CES TE 15, Indian Institute of Science
Associate Faculty, Centre for Sustainable Technologies (astra)
Centre for infrastructure, Sustainable Transportation and Urban Planning [CiSTUP]
Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, Karnataka, 560 012, India

Dr. T.V. Ramachandra, FIE, FIEE (UK), FNIE obtained Ph.D. in Ecology and Energy from Indian Institute of Science. At present, Coordinator of Energy and Wetlands Research Group (EWRG), Convener of Environmental Information System (ENVIS) at Centre for Ecological Sciences (CES). During the past twenty years he has established an active school of research in the area of energy and environment (http://ces.iisc.ernet.in/energy). He is a member of Karnataka State Wetland Authority (2018..), Karnataka State Audit Advisory Committee. He was a Member of Karnataka State level Environment Expert Appraisal Committee (2007-2010), appointed by the Ministry of Environment and Forests, Government of India and a member of Western Ghats task force appointed by the Government of Karnataka. Apart from this TVR is serving in many committees of NGT (National Green Tribunal) related to wetlands of Bangalore.

He is a recipient of Johny Biosphere Award for Ecology and Environment (2004), Satish Dhawan Young Scientist Award, 2007 of Karnataka State Government, ENVIS Award (2004, 2014), The Ministry of Environment, Forests and Climate Change, GoI, Namma Bangalorean, 2016 award (Namma Bengaluru Foundation) and Rotary Exemplars 2017- Citizen Extraordinaire award (Rotary Club of Bangalore) Karnataka State Parisara Award, 2017-18, GoK, Khadri Achuathan Memorial Samvahana Award (Environment) 2018, on World Communicators Day by PRCI. Recently chosen as a research advisor at the NanYang Academy of Sciences, Singapore (2019), Eminent Engineer, Institution of Engineers, Karnataka (2019).

He is an Elected Fellow of National Institute of Ecology (2011), Indian Association of Hydrologists (India; 2006), the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE, UK; 2005), Institution of Engineers (IE, India; 2003), and a Senior Member, IEEE (USA; 2000) and Association of Energy Engineers (USA; 2000).

TVR’s research interests are in the area of aquatic ecosystems, biodiversity, ecological modeling, Western Ghats ecology, energy systems, renewable energy, energy conservation, energy planning, geo-informatics, environmental engineering education research and curriculum development at the tertiary level. He has published over 309 research papers in reputed peer reviewed international and national journals, 62 book chapters, 333 papers in the international and national symposiums as well as 18 books. In addition, he has delivered a number of plenary lectures at national and international conferences. Publication “Milking diatoms for energy” is seminal work in biofuel research evident from reports in Scientific American, BBC, national dailies, etc.

He has guided 134 students for Master’s dissertation and twelve students for Doctoral degrees. TVR has travelled widely across the country for field research and also for delivering lectures at Schools and Colleges. He has taken initiatives through biennial symposium (popular as Lake series), training programmes and workshops for capacity building at various levels.

Prof. Sanjay Seth

Sanjay Seth is Senior Director & Senior Fellow of the Sustainable Habitat Programme with The Energy and Resources Institute (TERI). He is also the Chief Executive Officer of GRIHA Council which administers the Green Rating for Integrated Habitat Assessment. Prior to joining TERI, he worked with the Bureau of Energy Efficiency, Ministry of Power, Government of India and led the vertical on Building Energy Efficiency.

He was also the interim Secretary of the Bureau of Energy Efficiency and responsible for the administration and financial management of the organization. In this capacity, he provided oversight to the implementation of policies and programmes of BEE as well as the National Mission on Enhanced Energy Efficiency (NMEEE), and all international bilateral/multilateral cooperation programmes. He also represented BEE on the Board of Energy Efficiency Services Limited (EESL) as Director.

Currently, he serves on several committees constituted by the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs and Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS), Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution, Government of India as follows:

  • ‘Member’ on the Expert Committee for "ClimateSMART Cities Assessment Framework" for the Energy and Green Buildings (MoHUA).
  • ‘Mentor’ on the India Smart Cities Fellowship Program 2019-20 for Enhancing Cities Capacity for Emissions Reduction in the Building Sector – MITIGATE (MoHUA).
  • Jury Member of Smart City Empowering India Awards 2019, (MoHUA).
  • Member of “National ClimateSmart Cities Alliance”, (MoHUA).
  • ‘Principal Member’ on the Building Construction Practices Sectional Committee, CED13 (BIS).
  • ‘Principal Member’ on the National Building Code Sectional Committee, CED 46(BIS).

By training he is a Civil Engineer and has more than 33 years of experience in the power sector, both on the supply side as well as demand side.

Prof. Helmut Brand

Helmut Brand is Jean Monnet Professor of European Public Health and head of the Department of International Health at Maastricht University, The Netherlands. He studied Medicine in Düsseldorf and Zürich and holds a Master in Community Medicine from London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine and London School of Economics. Prof. Brand is a specialist in Public Health Medicine. He holds an honorable doctorate from Sofia Medical University.

After working in several Health Authorities and Ministries of Health he was director of the Public Health Institute of North-Rhine Westphalia, Germany. Since then European Integration in Health is the main topic of his work.

He is past-president of the Association of Schools of Public Health in the European region (ASPHER), and past-president of the European Health Forum Gastein (EHFG).

As a policy advisor, he serves on the European Advisory Committee on Health Research (EACHR) of WHO Europe and served on the Expert Panel on “Investing in Health” (EXPH) for the European Commission.

At Manipal University, India he acts as Founding Director of the "Prasanna School of Public Health".